Home > News > 2019 > Congratulations
News 2019


We congratulate Professor Luigi Nassimbeni on his 80th birthday which was celebrated on the 18th of October with a symposium in his honour. Many wonderful memories of Luigi were shared by notable academics from across the country, and international members of the supramolecular chemistry community sent messages and well wishes.


We congratulate Mr. Alexios Vicatos and Professor Mino Caira who's recent publication (https://doi.org/10.1039/C8CE01588K) has been selected for the Crystal Engineering and Communications editor's collection titled, 'Polymorphism in Molecular Crystals'.

We congratulate Mr. Marco Bardini, who graduated MSc under the supervision of Prof. Susan Bourne and Prof. Prof. Alessia Bacchi from the University of Parma. His thesis title is "Effect of anion and solvent coordination in single and dual ligand Cu(II) MOFs".

We are very proud to congratulate Emeritus Professor Luigi Nassimbeni, who is the first recipient of the International Alajos Kalman Prize, which was awarded at a special ceremony of the European Crystallographic Association in Vienna during August. He was chosen for the award for his excellent scientific contributions to Chemical Crystallography over the last 10 years. In particular, his outstanding activity in supramolecular chemistry, revealing aspects of thermodynamics, kinetics and separation of inclusion compounds, and discovering the relevance of certain weak bonds in significant industrial processes.

We congratulate Ms. Emma Tiffin, who graduated MSc under the supervision of Prof. Luigi Nassimbeni and Prof. Neil Ravenscroft. Her thesis title is 'The Separation of Picoline Isomers by Host-Guest Chemistry'.

We congratulate Ms. Nicole Sykes, who received the first UCT Vice Chancellor's Research scholarship on 30 May. This was awarded by Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng to 100 masters and doctoral students across all six faculties in recognition of exceptional academic achievements.

We are very proud to congratulate Professor Susan Bourne, who received a prestigious Distinguished Women in Chemistry award from the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) on 11 February 2019 to mark the International Day of Women and Girls in Science. This programme acknowledges and promotes the work of women chemists and chemical engineers worldwide, and is based on excellence in basic or applied research, distinguished accomplishments in teaching or education, or for having demonstrated leadership or managerial excellence in the chemical sciences.